Bun-Appétit

Happy cooking, happy eating

Coconut burfi (yummylicious coconut treats)

on November 11, 2011

Hello folks,

It’s been a while since I went experimenting in the kitchen. And apparently, my writing skills have also taken a backseat with so much going on these days. Please forgive me if it sounds dry and uncharacteristic today (and enjoy the treat!)

So, it was Eid day again. Though not my favourite time of the year when back home but it did help being in London (not with nightmares however!). Anyway, so I wanted to do something special and the idea just dawned to me and I decided to make coconut burfi for eid breakfast. And to tell you the truth, hubby is not a fan of sweets but he liked it somehow.. =D (two cheers!)

I’ve been such a klutz, that I am, this time and I thought I took a proper picture of it but just realised that I didn’t! (thanks to ********!!) Anyway, here goes;

Things you’ll need;

300-400 gm dried and chopped coconut (unsweetened)
250-300 gm Nido or any other powdered milk
250 gm Condensed milk
1/4 cup Oil/Ghee
1/2 cup skimmed milk
Food colour of your choice

What you need to do;

1. Roast coconut in a non-stick dry pan till you get the oily aroma but the coconut is not browned.
2. Add condensed milk in bits and keep stirring until it forms a sticky dough.
3. Add Nido and stir.
4. Add half of the oil to soften the dough.
5. Keep adding milk in bits and knead.
6. Mix the food colour in water/milk and add to the dough. Mix well to give it uniform colour through out.
7. Add left over oil to give final touches.
8. Pour out in a pan and leave to settle for a few hours.. then cut into pieces and sprinkle with almonds, pistachios, and what not! Enjoy!

Tip: You can use packaged shredded coconut. I went crazy and used fresh. The key to using fresh coconuts for this is to peel them and put them in the oven on 50 degrees for about 10-15 minutes or until they become dry and you can smell the coconut oil. Cut into small pieces and just throw into the chopper. And ladies and gentlemen, there you have it.. your home made coconut shreds.

Leave a Reply

