Bun-Appétit

Happy cooking, happy eating

Veggie Pasty and Potato Cutlets

on May 12, 2011

Yesterday was one of those days when you can’t set your mind on what to cook. I had half a bag of Sainsbury’s Instant Mashed Potatoes left and I had bought the Tesco Lighter Puff Pastry base to make veggie pasties one of these days.

To give a background to this story, me and hubby love Gregg’s veggie pasties. Can’t live without ’em. And the last few visits to the mall have had great impact on both my bank statements and my increasing waistline as Gregg’s veggies, delicious as they may be, come with a hefty 440 calories shock (half of them from fat), See for yourself. You can imagine my horror when one day while filling out my ‘myfitnesspal’ daily calorie intake I found out those yummylicious innocent looking ‘calorie bombs’ would probably be the cause of my untimely death due to heart failure. Okay, I guess I got carried away. =p LOL!

Anyway, so I thought why not try the puff pastry today.

Here’s what I did,

Ingredients:

1 pack Tesco Lighter Puff Pastry OR you can make one at home or buy at your nearest bakery/store
Mashed Potatoes
Chopped Veggies
Salt
Chaat Masala
Crushed Red Chilli

Method:

1. Let the puff pastry defrost (but keep it cool else the butter inside will start to melt)
2. Mix the mashed potatoes with veggies, salt, chat masala, and crushed red chilli. Add some Soya Sauce if you want.
3. Cut the puff pastry sheet in thick strips and dump a chunk of mashed potatoes on it. Wrap the sheet in squares around the potato and seal.
4. Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes on 200 degrees. Until golden brown.
5. Enjoy with your favourite sauce!

Tip: To give the pasty a shiny texture. Brush the top with egg. It looks absolutely gorgeous!

Oh, and we made potato cutlets of the remaining mashed potatoes =D

Leave a Reply

